• Jason Leach Named MTAL Offensive Player of the Year

    Breakers have 9 players selected to MTAL First / Second Team Offense and Defense

    The great plays of many Breakers were rewarded when the Mission Trail Athletic League All-First and Second-Teams were announced. This is the second year in a row that Pacific Grove has sported the Offensive Player of the Year, with Jake Speed winning the award last year.

    Jason Leach, who finished his senior season with 1,683 rushing yards and 21 touchdowns on 162 carries was named MTAL Offensive Player of the Year. Leach also had 10 receptions for 270 yards and 2 touchdowns, a kick-off return for a touchdown, and a fumble recovery for a touchdown.

    Breakers selected to the First-Team Offense were quarterback Anthony Coppla, running back Jason Leach, and offensive linemen Bridger Pettis and Tyler Hawes.

    Second-Team Offense featured wide receiver and defensive back John Buttrey.

    Breakers selected to First-Team Defense were defensive lineman Uche Ebo and linebacker Keenan Selbicky.

    Second-Team Defense featured linebacker James Donlan and defensive back Ryan Richardson.

    The rest of the award winners are as follows:

    Offensive Player of the Year: Jason Leach, Pacific Grove

    Defensive Player of the Year: Andres Enriquez, Carmel

    Back of the Year: Connor Marden, Carmel

    Lineman of the Year: Isaac Perez, King City

    Elgie Bellizo Sportsmanship Award: Jeff Davi, Stevenson

    Coach of the Year: Kevin Boincontri, Gonzales

    First-Team Defense

    Isaac Perez, DL, King City

    Uche Ebo, DL, Pacific Grove

    Andres Enriquez, DL, Carmel

    Cy Ledezma, DL, King City

    Sammy Garcia, DL, Soledad

    Robert Treadwell, LB, Carmel

    Michael Krehbiel, LB, King City

    Keenan Selbicky, LB, Pacific Grove

    Enrique Pacheco, LB, Soledad

    Eddie Osornio, DB, Carmel

    Kevin Lemus, DB, Soledad

    Daniel Higman, DB, Carmel

    Kendrick, Pearson, DB, Stevenson

    Second-Team Defense

    Andrew Pierce, DL, Marina

    Joseph Ramirez, DL, Soledad

    Kevin Nagel, DL, Carmel

    Isaac Madrigal, DL, Gonzales

    Scott Waddle, DL, Stevenson

    Aaron Garcia, LB, Marina

    James Donlon, LB, Pacific Grove

    Edgar Esparza, LB, Soledad

    Chase Barbree, LB, King City

    Jack Bournes, LB, Stevenson

    Nathan Serano, DB, King City

    Ryan Richardson, DB, Pacific Grove

    Hignio Salamon, DB, Gonzales

    Paul Olivas, DB, Soledad

    First-Team Offense

    Connor Marden, QB, Carmel

    Anthony Coppla, QB, Pacific Grove

    Brian Rosas, RB, Gonzales

    Jason Leach, RB, Pacific Grove

    Covossay Windham, RB, Carmel

    Dominic Rose, WR, King City

    William Kehoe, WR, Carmel

    John Stivers, TE, Carmel

    Patrick Hungate, OL, Carmel

    Sione FiaFia, OL, Carmel

    Bridger Pettis, OL, Pacific Grove

    Sabien Jackson, OL, Greenfield

    Tyler Hawes, OL, Pacific Grove

    Sabastian Medina, K, Gonzales

    Second-Team Offense

    Chrystian Harrigan, QB, Gonzales

    Read Reynolds, QB, Stevenson

    Anthony Deleon, RB, Greenfield

    Enrique Pacheco, RB, Soledad

    John Buttery, WR, Pacific Grove

    Fabian Guzman, WR, Soledad

    Keene Burns, WR, Carmel

    JJ Rodrigues, TE, Greenfield

    Tate Kelley, OL, King City

    Ernie Chan, OL, Greenfield

    Chris Archer, OL, Stevenson

    Robert Banuelos, OL, Gonzales

    Greg Farrington, OL, Carmel

    Steve McEnroe, OL, King City

    Alea Nystrom, K, Carmel

    posted to Cedar Street Times on November 29, 2014

    Topics: Front PG News, Sports


    You must be logged in to post a comment.