• MILDLY PUT: CSU Statement on President Trump’s Executive Order

    (January 30, 2017) – The California State University is committed to being an inclusive and welcoming institution of higher education that is enhanced by the students, faculty, staff and alumni from our global community.

    We are deeply troubled by President Trump’s recent executive order that stands in stark contrast to the fundamental tenets of the California State University. We believe in the free exchange of ideas globally, central to which is our ability to welcome and interact with those from around the world.  

    When something threatens our ability to think beyond our borders and learn from the world as a whole, we will oppose it. When something impacts anyone in our CSU community – especially the most vulnerable – it impacts us all.  

    Therefore, we oppose the divisiveness of the recent executive order, and we stand with state and national officials in requesting that the President reconsider this policy.

    Timothy P. White
    Chancellor, California State University

    David Lopez
    President, California State Student Association

    Christine Miller
    Chair, Academic Senate of the California State University

    Jeffrey D. Armstrong
    President, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

    Erika D. Beck
    President, CSU Channel Islands

    Joseph I. Castro
    President, Fresno State University

    Soraya M. Coley
    President, Cal Poly Pomona

    Jane Close Conoley
    President, CSU Long Beach

    William A. Covino
    President, Cal State Los Angeles

    Thomas A. Cropper
    President, CSU Maritime Academy

    Mildred García
    President, CSU Fullerton

    Willie J. Hagan
    President, CSU Dominguez Hills

    Dianne F. Harrison
    President, CSU Northridge

    Karen S. Haynes
    President, CSU San Marcos

    Elliot Hirshman
    President, San Diego State University

    Gayle E. Hutchinson
    President, CSU Chico

    Ellen N. Junn
    President, CSU Stanislaus

    Horace Mitchell
    President, CSU Bakersfield

    Tomás D. Morales 
    President, CSU San Bernardino

    Leroy M. Morishita
    President, CSU East Bay

    Robert S. Nelsen
    President, Sacramento State University

    Eduardo M. Ochoa
    President, CSU Monterey Bay

    Mary A. Papazian
    President, San José State University

    Lisa A. Rossbacher
    President, Humboldt State University

    Judy K. Sakaki
    President, Sonoma State University

    Leslie E. Wong
    President, San Francisco State University

    posted to Cedar Street Times on January 31, 2017

    Topics: Front PG News


    You must be logged in to post a comment.